Pleine de Soi-Même

hotel

The first-person singular wraps around my brain like an ace bandage

Suffocating all thoughts not containing I, ME, MYSELF

Mummifying what was once a garden of Galapagos seals and the French subjunctive

Like a tight corset, starving my neurons of YOU, SHE, THEM.

Lost in this asexually reproducing reef

Of monochrome brain coral singing the same song over and over

I promise myself not to forget

The sight of YOU alone with your diamond earrings at the airport

The silence that echoed on the snowy mountainside

A manifesto protesting self-obsession.

One day I will call you by name.

Leave a Reply

