Tes Rejets en Chocolat / Your Chocolate Rejections

640px-Paris_-_Dessert_wines_and_candy_shop_-_4307

En français (English below)

(Attention! J’étudie le français depuis moins de cinq ans et je ne me dit pas être courante. / Notice: I have been studying the French language for less than five years and I do not claim to be fluent.)

Mais tu ne veux pas me voir grossir

Et tu ne veux pas me voir

Si mes yeux se glisseront comme toujours sur ta patinoire

En chocolat pur, et si je me perdrai

Dans les pommiers de tes pensées

Si je me noierai dans la mer de glace qui tourbillonne dans tes yeux froids

Tu ne veux pas goûter la moindre goutte de moi

Tu ne veux pas me voir grossir

Donc, je ne peux pas te voir.

Car t’es le dessert dans mon désert

Mais tu ne comprends pas à quoi ça sert

Tu ne sais pas le chocolat qui me nourrit dans ta voix

Car tu ne veux pas me voir grossir –

Tu n’en veux rien savoir.

640px-Dark_chocolate_bar

English Interpretation (not exactly a literal translation but a rough one explaining what I meant to say which is probably unintelligible even to a French speaker due to my not speaking French fluently.)

But you don’t want to see me get fat

And you don’t want to see me

If my eyes will slip as they always do on your ice rink

Made of pure chocolate, and if I will lose myself

In the apple trees of your thoughts

If I will drown in the ice cream sea that swirls in your cold eyes

You don’t want to taste the slightest trace of me

You don’t want to see me get fat,

So I cannot see you.

Because you are the dessert in my desert

But you don’t understand why that matters

You don’t know the chocolate that feeds me in your eyes

Because you don’t want to see me get fat –

You don’t want to know anything about it.

Sunset_over_the_ice_of_Lake_Superior

Image credits in order of appearance:

“Paris – Dessert wines and candy shop – 4307” by © Jorge Royan / http://www.royan.com.ar. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Paris_-_Dessert_wines_and_candy_shop_-_4307.jpg#/media/File:Paris_-_Dessert_wines_and_candy_shop_-_4307.jpg

“Dark chocolate bar” by Simon A. Eugster – →This file has been extracted from another file: Schokolade-schwarz.jpg.. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dark_chocolate_bar.jpg#/media/File:Dark_chocolate_bar.jpg

By Brynn (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

