The Closest It Gets

Whale_fall

Sometimes I call up a friend

Sometimes I call up the Great Spirit, depending on the taste of the joe that burned my tongue this morning and my mood as the chocolate mousse drains into memory

I dial some holy number

Let it ring until they pick up so I can say hey

Thanks again

Today was not a wonderful day.

Neither was it terrible, nor cold, nor sweltering, nor long by sunlight, nor stunted by winter.

It wasn’t anything.

Days are fairly good at staying neutral

Have you ever seen a day sporting a magenta suit or throwing tomatoes at a senator?

But I

am one tiny piece inside this day, and I know what colors shine off me when the sun hits, and I know what colors drizzle honey on my eyes from afar but not within and I am learning what colors writhe in the pearly caverns of my insides, wanting to shine out in my words and hands when they do what they do with the cubic inch of the blue-sky minute quilt that has happened into my territory

Like manna from heaven or a fallen whale carcass.

Thank you for giving me this empty day

I say to no one I know personally,

and fill it as I yawn to dream of hidden meaning, the vestiges of godly sketches that wander in the marrow of my bones, graphite-bound, disbelieved.

Baby_lepidochelys_olivacea_in_the_sand

Image credits (below) and explanation: 

After a majestic whale dies a natural death, it may sink to the bottom of the ocean, becoming food for other creatures and nourishing entire ecosystems on the way until even the bone tissue has been consumed by bacteria. Nothing is wasted, either – all this energy powers the replenishment of the marine environment, including the chain of events that led up to this baby sea turtle’s hatching. Now it begins its journey through a world where the only thing certain is the harshness of nature. If humans refrain from interfering in the delicate balance of marine and land ecosystems, there is at least a reasonable chance that these fascinating and threatened creatures across the spectrum of biodiversity will continue to exist and enable human life, among other desirable things.

By NOAA’s Undersea Research Program – http://www.nurp.noaa.gov/Spotlight/Whales.htm, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=12042678

By The High Fin Sperm Whale (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

