Youth is Wasted on the Young

320px-bs_as_market_7630276734

I’m going to spend the first half of my cranberry quinoa bran muffin

wondering why I didn’t choose chocolate or banana nut

stabbing at the golden crust with my fork until the cranberries wheeze to bloodless

letting their blood tangle with the taste of tears salting my tongue

because I didn’t choose chocolate or banana nut.

Then I’m going to realize I’m halfway through the muffin

and I’ll spend the other half wondering after the ghosts of long-gone cranberries

parsing crumbs for the miracle that hatched whole out of the oven and is now broken

cursing my irreverent fork for splicing time so sharply when, after all, quinoa would nourish my wakeful dreams for hours afterward if only I had tasted it

back when I still had half a muffin ahead of me.

640px-perth_sunrise

Image credits in order of appearance:

By Gobierno de la Ciudad de Buenos Aires from Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Argentina – Bs As Market, CC BY 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=29375723

By Mark – Own work, GFDL, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=1993005

2 thoughts on “Youth is Wasted on the Young

Leave a Reply

