Un dernier mot/ A last word

640px-2015-03_-_cokerie_du_chanois_07

Tandis que je m’inventais une sorte de belle,

Tu as volé mon cœur, puis marché vers la poubelle.

Je ne t’ai pas vu.

 

J’ai vu le fantôme d’une étoile écrasée

qui t’avait blessé il était une fois,

par hasard, en voie vers sa belle lunette.

J’ai vu alors l’ombre de sa lumière morte,

que dans mon rêverie

je l’ai prise

pour une chose vivante.

 

Tu ne m’as point vue.

 

Mais dans l’univers noir

et sans vouloir que tu habites

dans ton esprit

soudé à l’usine,

tu ne voyais pas que j’aurais fait n’importe quoi…

me jeter dans le nul, m’éparpiller parmi les roches errantes, m’arracher le cœur

pour que tu puisses aimer une autre avec mon rythme cardiaque, toujours fonctionnant

à travers de plusieurs univers

pour toi. Oui, c’est bien triste,

une fillette pleine

de lumière était prête

à se supernover pour toi

(ou pour l’ombre qui en restait.)

 

C’est vraiment bien triste que tu as lâché l’opportunité de décevoir une femme.

640px-2015-03_-_cokerie_du_chanois_12

English Translation

While I was inventing beauty in myself,

You stole my heart, headed for the wastebasket.

I did not see you.

 

I saw the ghost of a crushed star

that nicked you once upon a time, by random accident,

along its steady trail towards the beginning of the moon’s time.

Basically, I was looking at

the shadow of its dead light; in my dreamlike state,

I took it for a living thing.

You simply would not see me.

 

But in the black, wantless

universe where your manufactured

spirit lives, you did not see that I would have done anything… thrown myself into the void, scattered myself amidst the wandering rocks, torn out my heart so you could love another via my cardiac rhythm, still

beating across universes

for you. Yes, it’s really sad, a young girl full

of light was ready to supernova her existence

for you (or for whatever shadow rested of it.)

 

It’s really quite sad that you missed the opportunity to disappoint a woman.

613px-2016-03-28_15-27-38_chanois

Note: In French, “depuis belle lurette” is an expression that means “forever, for a long time, for ages.” I have altered it, replacing the archaic last word with “lunette.” Literally, my version would translate as “since beautiful eyeglasses.” Since the word “lunette” also contains “lune,” meaning “moon,” I decided to focus on that connotation to match with the star imagery.

Images:

By A.BourgeoisP – Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=38770181

By A.BourgeoisP – Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=38771927

By Thomas Bresson – Own work, CC BY 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=47837744

2 thoughts on “Un dernier mot/ A last word

Leave a Reply

