Chanson sur un flocon de neige/Song on a snowflake

snowflake8

Voici un brouillon dont je suis trop fière, d’un poème en français que je vais rendre à mon professeur de “creative writing.” Comme il ne parle pas le français, j’ai écrit aussi une version en anglais, qui apparaît plus bas sur cette page.

This is a draft of a poem for my creative writing class, a poem of which I am perhaps a bit too proud. It is originally in French, but I have also written an English version, which appears below the French version on this page.

schnee2

Chanson sur un flocon de neige

J’ai peur que la joie de vivre me piège

Bien qu’à la douleur mon cœur s’est promis

Sur un flocon de neige j’ai regardé ma vie

qui sautait de beauté en beauté.

 

Je me demande si tout ça

(les ténèbres qui se voient dans les cicatrices sur mes bras)

si toute la vie d’avant attendait ce jour-là

Où la magique, blanche vierge, chatouille la brillante Terre

et mon cœur se lève tôt pour goûter à l’hiver

 

Où les jeunes étoiles filantes des plumes du faucon

en vole, se font nid dans les coins de nos corps

pendant que la Terre chante le décès des pleurs

en absence de la pluie érodant à nos mœurs

La vie semble être renée; du balcon

 

on se lâche, pas pour mourir la mort de la fleur

glacée, mais pour prendre l’aile dans le sillage

d’un flocon de neige, s’envoler, loin et loin

de nos pièges, traverser les mille et une peurs,

faisons-leur frissonner, et les laissons songer

allons nous envoler

sur un flocon de neige.

356px-portail_saint-dominique_chambery

English Version:

Song on a snowflake

I fear life’s joy springs its trap on me

Even as my heart promised itself to sadness

On a snowflake I watched my life

jumping from beauty to beauty next.

 

I demand of myself if everything hence

(the shadows, the scars on my arms)

if all my life before was for that I should see this day

Where magic, that white virgin, tickles the glittering ground

And my heart wakes up early to go out and taste the winter.

 

Where young stars, streaming from the falcon’s feathers

fall to earth, build their nests in the nooks of our bodies

All while the earth sings the death of our tears

in the absence of rain eroding our beliefs

life seems to have been reborn; from the balcony

 

we let ourselves fall, not to die the death of a frost

flower, but to take wing in the wake of a flake

of snow, to fly, far and far from our traps

to cross the one thousand and one fears

let’s make them shiver, let’s leave them to dream

let’s go on our flying snowflake.

401px-ice_festival_poznan_2015r

Images in order of appearance/ordre chronologique:

Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=441756

Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=440466

By Florian Pépellin – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=21814775

By MOs810 – Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=45806425

Leave a Reply

