Sound the Bells

Caution: this poem contains profanity. Most poems that resort to that are not worth your time. It’s also about insanity, and does happen to rhyme. But it is not for children.

360px-vojnikov_zvon_kaplicky_004

I don’t think these meds are working

maybe what I need are words:

Incoherent damsels twerking

Fleurs-de-lys are for the birds

 

I don’t think these meds are working

Maybe words are what I need

From my fingers pirates fucking

kraken maids produce new creeds.

 

We don’t think these meds are helping

All they do is steal my words

Daytime in my eyes is skulking

in the closet with the swords

And the black sheep

All I want to do is fucking

sleep

nothing matters any-

more.

 

 

I don’t think these words are helping

Could it be my fix is found

Someplace bigger than a poem,

Clouded, bright and underground

And unafraid of unrhymed sound?

374px-bernhard_stange_das_abendla%cc%88uten

Image credits in order of appearance:

By Juan de Vojníkov – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=11230043

By Bernhard Stange (1807–1880) – http://www.dorotheum.com, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=16071924

Leave a Reply

